The Bar is Coming…the Bar is Coming

It’s that time…Bar prep will officially start for me on Tuesday. I am doing my best not to dread this because I know it is in inevitable, but I can’t help it. This one test will determine whether or not I will be able to practice law. (Disclaimer, I can retake the test…but no one wants to retake this test.)

Luckily I have an awesome mentor who has provided me with a Bar prep study schedule. I think my biggest challenge will be sticking with the schedule. I am a procrastinator to the nth degree and I can usually do pretty well with cramming. However, the Bar is not really something you can, or should, cram for. I know that I’m going to basically have to shut off my phone during study sessions so I won’t get distracted by texts, Facebook, Twitter, Google+…you get the picture. I can always find something else to do instead of study when I have my phone lol.

I have two basic study schedules: one for Kaplan and one for Barbri. My Kaplan study schedule starts on Tuesday and will consist of three separate lessons each day for six days on six separate subjects: (a) Torts; (b) Constitutional Law; and (c) Criminal Law and Procedure; (d) Evidence; (e) Contracts; and (f) Real Property. Each lesson is only about an hour and a half so it won’t be too taxing. This will be my last week of work so it will be nice to ease into Bar prep instead of jumping in full force while still at work. My Barbri study schedule is a little more time intensive. I will end up studying about 10 hours a day starting out and it will likely increase to 11 or 12 once I start doing more MBE questions. My Barbri schedule is basically this Monday through Friday: 9:00am-1:00pm – Barbri Class; 1:00pm-2:00pm – Lunch; 2:00pm-4:00pm – Do Practice MBE Questions; 4:00pm-6:00pm – Review All MBE Answers; 6:00pm-8:00pm – Review Class Notes, Do Old Essays, and Do Old MEE Essays. I will also do about three or four hours of studying on Saturdays and take Sundays off. I still need to find sometime to work out. I will likely end up going back to early morning work outs. Not looking forward to waking up early…ugh.

I may need to play around with my schedule after the first week of Barbri if I find I am having trouble keeping with the one I already have. For all my fellow Bar preppers, what does your study schedule look like? For those that have taken the Bar, any study tips?

Leave a Reply

